“Chapter One. He was as tough and romantic as the city he loved. Beneath his black-rimmed glasses was the coiled sexual power of a jungle cat. I love this. New York was his town, and it always would be…”

Although I am an admitted novis when it comes to the world of Woody Allen’s cinema, I’ve recently become enamoured with this film. I’ve seen a few of the early films and a few of the later films, and have always found them to be wholy enjoyable, but Ihave to say that this film blew me away. Allen’s brilliant, biting, comical, self efacing and satirical script (dialoge especially) along with the brilliant stark black and white cinematography have coeleased into this amazing film which serves as a love letter to film in general, Manhattan, as well as a really complex and interesting plot.

Other than that simple thought about the film, I would really like to talk about a couple of really interesting scenes, both of which were in museums. In two of the museum scenes, Allen playfully plays with perspective. In the fist scene, when Isaac is with Tracy at an art gallery (I guess not quite a museum) and they are standing looking at a work, and talking about it. In the composition there is a large work that dominates the screen, which it seems that they are talking about and then someone walks in front of them and smashes this perspective and adds another dimention to the shot. The second scene of which I speak is when Isaac is walking with Mary in the museum, to escape the rain, they walk through straight black space where they walk around or behind, it’s hard to tell which, seemingly massive structures, throughout this scene Allen plays with perspective in a truly interesting way.

Anywho, along with what I’ve already said, I feel in love with Allen’s ability to create characters who are all together reprehensible while at the same time completely loveable.

